Movies | Music | Masti Close Aha Ad
Watch Latest Movies & Web Series on AHA!
Movies | Music | Music


Tamil Nadu Announces The State Film Awards For Six Years


It’s a big feast to the Tamil film industry. The Tamil Nadu state government has announced the state film awards for six years from 2009 to 2014. This has come as a relief for the film industry which has been battling multiple issues around the GST including the strike protesting the additional entertainment tax over it and consequent shut down of theaters.

The Tamil Nadu State Film Awards were last given in 2008, the late Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, J Jayalalitha had promised last year that they would be brought back in a grand way. Finally, on Thursday i.e. on July 13, Chief Minister Edappadi Palanisamy announced, “We were not able to give out the State Film Awards to artists and technicians due to some unexpected reasons. We are making preparations to arrange the Awards function in a grand level.”

Here is the complete list of winners year-wise |
Best Picture (First Prize) – Pasanga
Best Picture (Second Prize) – Mayandi Kudumbathar
Best Picture (Third Prize) – Achamundu Achamundu
Best Actor – Karan (Malayan)
Best Actress – Padmapriya (Pokkisham)
Best Actor (Special Prize) – Prasanna (Achamundu Achamundu)
Best Actress (Special Prize) – Anjali (Angadi Theru)
Best Villain – Prakash Raj (Villu)
Best Comedian – Ganja Karuppu (Malayan)
Best Director – Vasantha Balan (Angadi Theru)
Best Music Director – Sundar C. Babu (Nadodigal)
Best Lyricist – Yugabharathi (Pasanga)
Best Picture (First Prize) – Myna
Best Picture (Second Prize) – Kalavani
Best Picture (Third Prize) – Puthran
Best Special Prize – Namma Gramam
Best Actor – Vikram (Raavanan)
Best Actress – Amala Paul (Myna)
Best Actor (Special Prize) – Y.G. Mahendra (Puthran)
Best Actress (Special Prize) – Sangeetha (Puthran)
Best Villain – S. Thirumurugan (Kalavani)
Best Comedian – J. Thambi Ramaiah (Myna)
Best Director – Prabhu Solomon (Myna)
Best Music Director – Yuvan Shankar Raja (Paiyya)
Best Lyricist – Pirai Sudan (Neeyum Naanum)
Best Picture (First Prize) – Vaagai Sooda Vaa
Best Picture (Second Prize) – Deiva Thirumagal
Best Picture (Third Prize) – Uchi Thanai Murgarnthaal
Best Special Prize – Marina
Best Actor – Vimal (Vaagai Sooda Vaa)
Best Actress – Iniya (Vaagai Sooda Vaa)
Best Actor (Special Prize) – Sivakarthikeyan (Marina)
Best Actress (Special Prize) – Anushka Shetty (Deiva Thirumagal)
Best Villain – Ponvannan (Vaagai Sooda Vaa)
Best Comedian – Mano Bala (Many Films)
Best Comedian (Female) – Devadharshini (Kanchana)
Best Director – A. L. Vijay (Deiva Thirumagal)
Best Music Director – Harris Jayaraj (Ko)
Best Lyricist – Muthulingam (Medhai)
Best Picture (First Prize) – Vazhakku En 18/9
Best Picture (Second Prize) – Saatai
Best Picture (Third Prize) – Thoni
Best Special Prize – Kumki
Best Actor – Jeeva (Nee Thane En Ponvasantham)
Best Actress – Lakshmi Menon (Kumki and Sundarapandian)
Best Actor (Special Prize) – Vikram Prabhu (Kumki)
Best Actress (Special Prize) – Samantha (Nee Thane En Ponvasantham)
Best Villain – Vijay Sethupathi (Sundarapandian)
Best Comedian – Soori (Many films)
Best Comedian (Female) – Aarthi (Paraseega Mannan)
Best Director – Balaji Sakthivel (Vazhakku En 18/9)
Best Music Director – T. Imman (Kumki)
Best Lyricist – N. Muthukumar
Best Picture (First Prize) – Ramanujan
Best Picture (Second Prize) – Thangameenkal
Best Picture (Third Prize) – Pannaiyarum Padminiyum
Best Special Prize – Aal
Best Actor – Arya (Raja Rani)
Best Actress – Nayantara (Raja Rani)
Best Actor (Special Prize) – Vijay Sethupathi (Pannaiyarum Padminiyum And Itharku Thane Aasaipattai Balakumara)
Best Actress (Special Prize) – Nazariya Nasim (Neram)
Best Villain – Vidiyal Raj (Aal)
Best Comedian – Sathyan (Raja Rani)
Best Director – Ram (Thangameenkal)
Best Music Director – Ramesh Vinayakam (Ramanujan)
Best Lyricist – Na. Muthukumar (Thangameenkal)
Best Picture (First Prize) – Kutram Kadithal
Best Picture (Second Prize) – Goli Soda
Best Picture (Third Prize) – Nimirnthu Nil
Best Special Prize – Kaaka Muttai
Best Actor – Siddharth (Kaaviya Thalaivan)
Best Actress – Aishwarya Rajesh (Kaaka Muttai)
Best Actor (Special Prize) – Bobby Simha (Jigarthanda)
Best Actress (Special Prize) – Anandhi (Kayal)
Best Villain – Prithivi Raj (Kaaviya Thalaivan)
Best Comedian – K.R. Singamuthu (Many films)
Best Director – Raghavan (Manja Pai)
Best Music Director – A.R. Rahman (Kaaviya Thalaivan)
Best Lyricist – Na. Muthukumar (Saivam)

It remains to be seen when the Award ceremony will be arranged and when Awards for 2015 and 2016 will be announced.